Siren Song: CIRA Contest

I have so many other things to do but somehow I keep getting drawn back to the CIRANEWS page on YouTube to see if there have been any more video entries for the Show us Your .CA contest.
[editing insert 2010-03-21T00:40:50+00:00… Seems CIRA elected to remove the contest entry page from their website. Resulting in broken links like this one. Funny, I would expect a domain name registry like CIRA to understand how the internet works… wouldn’t you? Better keep an eye on the rest of the CIRA links when the contest finishes, eh?]

DOTca

To see the other entries you’ll need to go to the YouTube CIRANEWS page, and I spent a wee bit too much time watching them all yesterday. I understand all the entries are not yet online so I’ll have to check the rest of them out later…. its too nice to stay indoors.

(That’s just one more reason why *I* should win the laptop) 🙂

All of the other entries seem to be “from the heart”, and clearly all the participants have things to say. A lot of energy went into these films. Just as clearly some of the films show a great deal more effort than others. There are some “talking heads”, one camera set-ups, and long single takes. There are a few that are very funny. There is also some serious film-making talent evident, which is why I hesitate to assume that my film will win first place, as great as I believe it to be. And you can never really tell in a contest. Even with the technical difficulties I had, my film-savvy gives me confidence that my entry will make it to the finals, but first place will be seriously contested, that’s certain.

FLUIDweb page design graphic

I did have fun though. Playing around with animation is always interesting. And I managed to slip in my plug for fluid web pages. The web will be much cooler when every site is fluid.

There were some products and websites that I will check out later based on the promos, which I think is a large part of the point of the exercise. Although I would really like to win the laptop. That’d be good. 🙂 Of course some of the sites hold zero interest for me personally, regardless of the promo film. Its been a long time since I watched hockey for instance, so the hockey pool site isn’t someplace I’m likely to go. (Although it would probably be very interesting to my brother-in-law. But then he’s probably a charter member). But that’s how the web works. Lots of contrent, find what you need. Certainly, where there is a Canadian alternative I’d be inclined to select the Canadian site.

I will have to find a better video editing package though, because it is a serious handicap not being able to create HD films. I’ll have to check my other commercial software package.

And if I’m going to be making any more films I certainly need to discover how people close-caption web films. Because my soundtrack was entirely made up of the song “Ridin’ The Canadian Roadway”, as background music, strictly speaking it didn’t need captioning as it was a musical score rather than dialogue, but still, accessibility is an important issue so I want to learn it. Everyone who wants or needs to should be able to access online content.

And of course I want to be able to make my films available for universal viewing. so I have a lot to learn about that yet. That’s the key topic on my updated Lothlaurien Films page. [I’ve updated the main page and the films page to cover my CIRA contest entry.]

I do believe that I did a good job of answering the question:

why .ca?

Fingers crossed!

lothlaurien.canadian

But it is an unseasonably gorgeous spring day, and the kids have informed me that we’re not done with snow this year, so I’d better get out there with my camera before the white stuff returns. There’s a lot of spring time wildlife to photograph in the wilds of Lothlaurien forest today. Later!



You can watch my video here:



Go back

0 Responses to “Siren Song: CIRA Contest”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Lothlaurien Icon

The Magical World of Lothlaurien

RSS Lothlaurien Tumbles

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Creative Commons License

Creative Commons License
lothlaurien's lore by lothlaurien.ca is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Canada License. images created by lothlaurien.ca unless otherwise specified are also covered under this cc-by license. Note: Images reproduced from other sources retain their originating copyright.

ART is all around

ART logo

RSS Join the Identi.ca Group: ART !artlife

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

