Canadian Website Links: Art is all Around

One Hundred Jobs

I wanted to share links to some interesting websites I discovered through that contest. Videos from these websites were my favorites.

I rather liked One Hundred Jobs since Aimee Davison is rather like Bridget Jones in the flesh. You must check out her blog. There were a few “funny” contest submissions, but this was easily the best of them.

The Cow and the Moon

Cow and the Moon Paper Company created another of my favorite videos. The video’s theme was that the website allowed Kelly Linhares to be a stay at home mom This certainly resonated with me having lived it myself. (And it was worth it!) The problem I had with this film was that it didn’t tell me about the home business. I had to go to her website to find out that she creates fun invitations and greeting cards (and she certainly seems to have a better business sense than I do). This video made it into the finals, but she decided to pull out rather than continue the way the contest was being run.

The Cake Lady

The Cake Lady is another of my favorites because it led to a really good website. I felt that Vanessa Le Page’s film suffered from framing; it would have benefited from tighter editing and close shots of the website. The website is excellent… visually stunning and *gasp* a fluid layout! Woohoo! I gained five pounds just popping in.

ibsurdities

Ibsurdities is an excellent website showcasing the talented Lori Watson’s wildlife art, “Scratchboard Prints” and  graphic design work.  Take a look at some of the exceptional work she’s done.

Studio Diva

Studio Diva Lynn Davies is a terrific artist. The website shows off some of her really fine artwork. But it goes a bit further than that, she takes a serious look at the process of creating art. Definitely worth a good look, particularly if you’ want to learning how it’s done.

Bram Timmer’s Beside is a domain name (part of a series of domain names… along with aside and reside…) with a pun I can appreciate. I found the film interesting, but it went on too long for a “talking head” without actually showing any of his websites. This talented guy has a great body of work, but I prefer the fluid aside photo page because the images are available large.

I haven’t been out to Kleinberg in quite a while, but The McMichael Canadian Art Collection is certainly an important Canadian art collection. My bone to pick is that the site only displays teeny images of the artwork in the collection. This is a common failing many people make with websites, only putting thumbnails or inferior images online, or stamping “sample” on their artwork. This comes from the worry that “giving it away free” will compromise the business.

My thinking is more on the line of building an audience. A thumbnail image is not going to make a fan out of me. Looking at paintings on a website is not the same thing as looking at them in reality. I suspect the website would bring the gallery much more business if it was opened up. The only way people become fans of art is through exposure.

In the old days of radio that was understood by the music companies: giving it away for free was how the fan base was built. I don’t listen to the radio anymore, so the internet is where I tend to go to find new music.

Jane Paddy Folk Songs

Which leads to Jane Paddy‘s beautiful folk music. This is another good website that cleverly allows visitors to listen to the music, which allows people the opportunity to experience the music so that they may become fans. This is crucial to building a fan base. Nobody is going to but a song without having first heard it.

I discovered more music on Nathan Michael Marcuzzi’s site. You can hear portions of his music for his new album billed as being “about materialism, religion & politics” here. Personally, I’d prefer to hear a few full songs rather than many partial songs. Like a story, a song has a beginning a middle and an end, so partials are clearly unsatisfying. Although I like some of his beginnings, I have no idea if I’d like how any of his songs end.

Sustainable You

Radio stations play entire songs– that’s how brands are made and audiences are found.

Another music site I found was Roland Karl Bryce: Whistler Suite. This modern classical music seems to have been written as a musical score for the environment, kind of like Beethoven’s “Pastoral”. One of the best things about the internet is the way you can find the right audience for your creation.

As an environmentalist I really liked the Sustainable You website, which offers useful information that can help us all make the world a better place.

Go back

5 Responses to “Canadian Website Links: Art is all Around”


  1. 1 jane March 19, 2010 at 10:01 pm

    thank you for the kind words, lothlaurien! thank you for taking the time to watch everybody’s videos, including mine, and for seeing where they all led to. best wishes to you.

  2. 2 lothlaurien March 20, 2010 at 2:50 am

    Since I first started learning how to make a website in 2008, I’ve discovered so much about the internet. It isn’t just a sterile tool, its a way of connecting and sharing.

    So whenever I find good stuff, I pass it along through the identi.ca, twitter or lothlaurien’s lore. And I’m even getting a lot better at remembering to link everything.

    I’m especially impressed with the increase in independent music, movies and art made possible by the new technologies, because we are having a cultural boom not seen since the 1940’s. This is a great deal for artists (you) and audiences (me).

  3. 3 Aimee March 20, 2010 at 4:42 pm

    Thanks for the shout out! I’ll keep Bridget Jonesing myself till I get to my 100th accomplishment!

    😀

    Aimee

  4. 4 Bram Timmer March 22, 2010 at 4:03 pm

    Thanks for the plug and the kind words about my work. The talking head is all I could manage to participate in time for the contest. Unfortunately I was sick and ending up cutting out a lot of coughing, which is actually why I went with the editing style. I shot it the night before the contest deadline at 3am and spent most of the next day editing the footage. After getting the quick beside.ca slide into the footage I was running out of time and had to submit as is.

    I definitely would’ve trimmed it a lot and included more screenshots/work had I been able to do better time management. Oh well, fun little video none the less.

    All the best to you!

    Cheers,
    Bram

    PS. Beside hasn’t been updated in a year (work wise) and the site itself was built back in 2006, thus it’s dated. Aside needs an update as I’m not loving the super large images anymore. And of course I need to get moving on Inside, so I can blog about things like this! 🙂

  5. 5 lothlaurien March 22, 2010 at 9:36 pm

    Good films, good websites. Good to pass along.

    (I know I only started putting my film together at the last minute, but there’s no way I’d have gotten anything in had I been sick… I am a miserable sick person.)


Leave a Reply

Lothlaurien Icon

The Magical World of Lothlaurien

RSS Lothlaurien Tumbles

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Creative Commons License

Creative Commons License
lothlaurien's lore by lothlaurien.ca is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Canada License. images created by lothlaurien.ca unless otherwise specified are also covered under this cc-by license. Note: Images reproduced from other sources retain their originating copyright.

ART is all around

ART logo

RSS Join the Identi.ca Group: ART !artlife

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

