Webby Awards: Animal Rocks

I wrote about this awesome video a while back. Sadly I found out too late to vote for the Muppet version of Bohemian Rhapsody which was nominated for a 2010 Webby Award. (That’s OK, I’m following the Muppets on twitter now, so I’ll know for next time.)

The Webby & People’s Voice Awards have announced the 2010 winners.

screenshot of the twitter page of Muppet Studio announcing Webby win

The Muppets win @WebbyAwards for both Music and Viral!! Congratulations to @MuppetsStudio for this awesome win! http://bit.ly/cwJtsH

Congratulations muppets!

And a special note to Animal— your mamma will be sooooo proud!

I would have linked to the Muppets site except when I tried, I discovered that muppets.com is actually part of Disney, which gives Canadians this brush off notice:

Muppets.com screenshot

There’s a thirty year old “Miss Piggy” sticker on my desk lamp.  I’ve been a muppet fan for a long time.

I remember attending the filming of a Muppet special out at CFTO Studios in Toronto in the 1980’s. It was cool, and I got autographs from Frank Oz, Dave Goelz and Jim Henson. I remember thinking it wierd that they kept the muppet puppets in black bags between taping segments.  Until the one time the production assistant was too slow with the bag.  Even understanding behind the scenes stuff, knowing that the muppets were puppets, it was simply too unsettling to see them so lifeless.

To Laurie - Jim Henson, To Laurie, best wishes, Frank Oz & Miss Piggy (with a flourish) To Laurie with love, The Great Gonzo! Dave Goelz

Although I was “too old” for Sesame Street when it began, I loved it anyway. And the muppets. One year when I was camp counselor we had great fun rigging this trick photograph. (Hint… the cards were stapled to make it easier for the puppets to hold them.)

Circa 1980's - Grover, Fozzie and Kermit sit around the kitchen table playing cards with me.

1980: That's me playing cards with muppets. Photo by Karen Shorney

And I know that Fraggle Rock was made in Canada as well. Of course that was back when Jim Henson was alive and before Disney bought the Muppets.

But now it seems Canada is the enemy.

So no, I don’t really see myself wanting to buy stuff from Disney.

2 Responses to “Webby Awards: Animal Rocks”


  1. 1 Roland Bryce August 23, 2011 at 3:34 pm

    Hi,
    and thanks for your very kind words about Whistler Suite by Roland Karl Bryce. I have now finished the piece and am publishing it via my website: http://www.musicstave.com

    The link to whistlersuite.ca no longer works, but http://www.musictrees.ca should be ok.

    Thank you again for your kind support,

    With best wishes,

    Roland Bryce
    (Composer)


  1. 1 Tweets that mention Webby Awards: Animal Rocks « lothlaurien's lore -- Topsy.com Trackback on May 6, 2010 at 6:55 pm

Leave a Reply

Lothlaurien Icon

The Magical World of Lothlaurien

RSS Lothlaurien Tumbles

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Creative Commons License

Creative Commons License
lothlaurien's lore by lothlaurien.ca is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Canada License. images created by lothlaurien.ca unless otherwise specified are also covered under this cc-by license. Note: Images reproduced from other sources retain their originating copyright.

ART is all around

ART logo

RSS Join the Identi.ca Group: ART !artlife

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

