From Spaceships to Erotica

A long time ago I told Richard an idea I had for a space ship.  This was around the time of the original Battlestar Galactica.

I was so damn tired of space ships getting blown up left right and center in science fiction movies.  I just couldn’t see it happening.  Surely the future governments of space warfaring nations would be looking for ways to better the bottom line.  (We all know it wouldn’t be worry about losing the pilots as much as those spaceships.  Seriously, they wouldn’t be wanting to replace the hardware every five minutes.   I mean really, space ships are going to have bigger price tags than today’s fighter planes.

Richard was the guy no paper napkin was safe around when he was armed with a pencil.  But that day he settled at my kitchen table and I gave him a hunk of paper and he started designing my spaceship.  Just like that.  It was awesome.  (The idea was to have disposable/detachable maneuverable fighter pods that would be able to protect the main ship.)  Richard’s art was amazing.   Still is.

Three pencil sketches

Rich’s rendering & design for my tripleship, circa 1980’s, is a little yellowed from hanging on my walls lo these many years, but it’s still very very cool.

The one bit of his art that I regret the most were the cartoons he did in and around my room at Women’s College Hospital many years ago. Richard drew some comics that day (probably on a napkin) and everybody got a tremendous howl out of them except me, as I was a bit preoccupied giving birth. I think I got a glimpse of them but they were lost in the shuffle, and sadly didn’t come home with us. (We were clever enough to bring the baby.)

If you’re interested in seeing some of Richard’s portfolio you can check his website or see what he’s up to on his blog. Of course if you’re in the sunshine state you might want to look him up this weekend as he’s exhibiting his erotic art for the first time at FetishCon in Tampa Florida. Richard will be exhibiting and selling his work there Saturday August 7 and Sunday August 8th, 2010.

Leave a Reply

Lothlaurien Icon

The Magical World of Lothlaurien

RSS Lothlaurien Tumbles

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Creative Commons License

Creative Commons License
lothlaurien's lore by lothlaurien.ca is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Canada License. images created by lothlaurien.ca unless otherwise specified are also covered under this cc-by license. Note: Images reproduced from other sources retain their originating copyright.

ART is all around

ART logo

RSS Join the Identi.ca Group: ART !artlife

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

